S-ing S-uch Omn-I-potence

One, two
One, two, three, four

When you came in my life you changed my world
My Sarah
Everything seemed so right my baby girl
My Sarah

You are all I want to know
You hold my heart so don’t let go
You are all I need to live
My love to you I’ll give

My Sarah

When you begin to smile you change my style
My Sarah
When I look in your eyes I see my prize
My Sarah

You are all I want to know
You hold my heart so don’t let go
You are all I need to live
My love to you I’ll give

You are all I want to know
Oh my Sarah
Don’t let go oh no
My Sarah

You are all I want to know
You hold my heart so don’t let go
You are all I need to live
My love to you I’ll always give

You are all I want to know
You hold my heart so don’t let go
You are all I want to know
Oh my Sarah

Yes you changed my style with your baby smile
Sarah
Childlike charms keep me warm hold you in my arms
Sarah

Change my world my baby girl
Sarah
All I want to know don’t let go
No, no, no, no, no, no
Sarah
Sarah
Be mine

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wait a minute baby…
Stay with me awhile
Said you’d give me light
But you never told be about the fire

Drowning in the sea of love
Where everyone would love to drown
And now its gone
It doesn’t matter anymore
When you build your house
Call me home

And he was just like a great dark wing
Within the wings of a storm
I think I had met my match — he was singing
And undoing the laces
Undoing the laces

Drowning in the sea of love
Where everyone would love to drown
And now its gone
It doesn’t matter anymore
When you build your house
Call me home

Hold on
The night is coming and the starling flew for days
I’d stay home at night all the time
I’d go anywhere, anywhere
Ask me and I’m there because I care

Sarah, you’re the poet in my heart
Never change, never stop
And now its gone
It doesn’t matter what for
When you build your house
I’ll come by

Drowning in the sea of love
Where everyone would love to drown
And now its gone
It doesn’t matter anymore
When you build your house
Call me home

All I ever wanted
Was to know that you were dreaming
(There’s a heartbeat
And it never really died)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Go now,
Don’t look back we’ve drawn the line,
Move on,
It’s no good to go back in time,
Oh I would never find another girl like you,
For happy endings it takes two,
With fire and ice,
Oooooh yea

Sarah,
Storms are brewing in your eyes,
Sarah,
Now I can realize
Sarah,
You’re like a beauty queen
Sarah,

Danger,
Oooooooh yea
(Sarah)
Aaaaw yea, HEY
Danger,
In the game when the stakes are high,
Branded,
A heart was branded while my senses stood by,
Oh I would never find another girl like you,
For happy endings it takes two,
With fire and ice, oh

Sarah,
Storms are brewing in your eyes
Sarah,
Now I can realize
Sarah,
There’s danger in your eyes
Sarah,
Now I can realize

Love me like you never loved me before,
Hurt me like no one has ever hurt me before

Sarah,
Storms are brewing in your eyes,
Sarah,
Now I can realize
Sarah,
There’s danger in your eyes
Sarah,
Now I can realize

Aaaaaaw yea (Sarah)
Oooooooooooooooh

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Baby hair with a woman’s eyes
I can feel you’re watching in the night
All alone with me and we’re waiting for the sunlight
When I feel cold, you warm me
And when I feel I can’t go on, you come and hold me
It’s you… And me forever

Sarah Smile
Won’t you smile a while for me
Sarah

If you feel like leaving you know you can go
But why don’t you stay until tomorrow?
If you want to be free, you know, all you got to do is say so
And when you feel cold, I’ll warm you
And when you feel you can’t go on, I’ll come and hold you
It’s you… And me forever

Sarah Smile
Won’t you smile a while for me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I’m on a roll,
I’m on a roll this time.
I feel my luck could change.

Kill me Sarah,
Kill me again with love.
It’s gonna be a glorious day.

Pull me out of the aircrash,
Pull me out of the lake,
‘Cause I’m your superhero.
We are standing on the edge.

The head of state
Has called for me by name
But I don’t have time for him.
It’s gonna be a glorious day!
I feel my luck could change.

Pull me out of the aircrash,
Pull me out of the lake,
‘Cause I’m your superhero.
We are standing on the edge.

We are standing on the edge.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I laid on a dune, I looked at the sky,
When the children were babies and played on the beach.
You came up behind me, I saw you go by,
You were always so close and still within reach.

Sarah, Sarah,
Whatever made you want to change your mind?
Sarah, Sarah,
So easy to look at, so hard to define.

I can still see them playin’ with their pails in the sand,
They run to the water their buckets to fill.
I can still see the shells fallin’ out of their hands
As they follow each other back up the hill.

Sarah, Sarah,
Sweet virgin angel, sweet love of my life,
Sarah, Sarah,
Radiant jewel, mystical wife.

Sleepin’ in the woods by a fire in the night,
Drinkin’ white rum in a Portugal bar,
Them playin’ leapfrog and hearin’ about Snow White,
You in the marketplace in Savanna-la-Mar.

Sarah, Sarah,
It’s all so clear, I could never forget,
Sarah, Sarah,
Lovin’ you is the one thing I’ll never regret.

I can still hear the sounds of those Methodist bells,
I’d taken the cure and had just gotten through,
Stayin’ up for days in the Chelsea Hotel,
Writin’ “Sad-Eyed Lady of the Lowlands” for you.

Sarah, Sarah,
Wherever we travel we’re never apart.
Sarah, oh Sarah,
Beautiful lady, so dear to my heart.

How did I meet you? I don’t know.
A messenger sent me in a tropical storm.
You were there in the winter, moonlight on the snow
And on Lily Pond Lane when the weather was warm.

Sarah, oh Sarah,
Scorpio Sphinx in a calico dress,
Sarah, Sarah,
You must forgive me my unworthiness.

Now the beach is deserted except for some kelp
And a piece of an old ship that lies on the shore.
You always responded when I needed your help,
You gave me a map and a key to your door.

Sarah, oh Sarah,
Glamorous nymph with an arrow and bow,
Sarah, oh Sarah,
Don’t ever leave me, don’t ever go.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
And it came to me then that every plan
Is a tiny prayer to father time
As I stared at my shoes in the ICU
That reeked of piss and 409
And I rationed my breaths as I said to myself
That I’ve already taken too much today
As each descending peak on the LCD
Took you a little farther away from me
Away from me

Amongst the vending machines and year-old magazines
In a place where we only say goodbye
It stung like a violent wind that our memories depend
On a faulty camera in our minds
And I knew that you were a truth I would rather lose
Than to have never lain beside at all
And I looked around at all the eyes on the ground
As the TV entertained itself

‘Cause there’s no comfort in the waiting room
Just nervous pacers bracing for bad news
And then the nurse comes ‘round and everyone lift their heads
But I’m thinking of what Sarah said
That love is watching someone die

So who’s gonna watch you die? So who’s gonna watch you die

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I heard a rumour
They travel far
You know what its like
The way people are
They talk and they talk
Though they don’t understand
They’ll whisper and whisper
And lie on demand
Please tell me now
I want to know
I have to hear it from your lips
Say its not so

I heard it on Monday
And I laughed a while
I heard it on Tuesday
I managed to smile
I heard it on Wednesday
My patience was tried
I heard it on Thursday
And I hurt inside
I want to know
The depths of your mind
Tell me this whole thing is madness
And were doing fine
Put your little hand in mine
And believe in love
Put your head on my chest
And breathe love
Breathe love
Breathe love
Breathe love

I heard it from Peter
Who heard it from Paul
Who heard it from someone
I don’t know at all
I heard it from Mary
Who heard it from Ruth
Who swore on the bible
She’s telling the truth
I heard it from Simon
Who heard it from James
Confirming with Sarah
That I was to blame
I heard it from Joseph
Who heard it from John
Who said with conviction
That all hope was gone
So I need to know
Your alibis
I need to hear that you love me
Before you say goodbye

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sarah spelled without an ‘h’ was getting bored
On a Peavea amp in 1984
While Zak without a ‘c’ tried out some new guitars
Playing Sarah-with-no-h’s favourite song

(La da da da, la da da, la da da)
(La da da da, la da da, la da da)

Zak and Sarah

Often Sarah would have spells where she lost time
She saw the future, she heard voices from inside
The kind of voices she would soon learn to deny
Because at home they got her smacked

(La da da da, la da da, la da da)
(La da da da, la da da, la da da)

Zak and Sarah
Zak and Sarah

Zak called his dad about layaway plans
And Sarah told the friendly salesman that:
“You’ll all die in your cars,
And why’s it gotta be dark?
And you’re all working in a submarine”

(Asshole)

She saw the lights, she saw the pale English face
Some strange machines repeating beats and thumping bass
Visions of pills that put you in a loving trance
That makes it possible for all white boys to dance
And when Zak finished Sarah’s song, Sarah clapped

(La da da da, la da da, la da da)
(La da da da, la da da, la da da)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I was aching, breaking down
The bluest guy the blues had found
You came, you gave me Butter Pecan
You let me ramble on and on

When we walked down the street
My heart you would steal
With Ewoks on T.V.
I knew it was real
Clumsy royalty and speech pathology
You found me all alone I found myself a Blarney Stone
And Sarah, you take my blues away
Every night I cuddle up with you
And Sarah, you take my blues away

I love you forever and ever and ever I do

I love it when you–re dreaming deep
Curled up in a ball asleep
Warm and good and made of love
You’re just what I’ve been dreaming of

When we walked down the street
My heart you would steal
With Ewoks on T.V.
I knew it was real
Clumsy royalty and speech pathology
You found me all alone I found myself a Blarney Stone
And Sarah, you take my blues away
Every night I cuddle up with you
And Sarah, you take my blues away

I love you forever and ever I do
Oh, and Sarah, you take my blues away
Every night I cuddle up with you
And Sarah, you take my blues away
I love you forever and ever and ever I do

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Midnight and the sound of rain
Sarah’s on her way again
I see her smile
and close her eyes
She’s shuttin’ out the world outside

3rd Avenue rumbles on around her
So unaffected by the chaos that surrounds her
Writing words to the music in her head
It’s a perfect song
Moving her along
Through a broken world that changes every day
But inside Sarah’s head everything’s okay

Sarah Saturday, you radiate
and nothing in this world is wrong
Sarah Saturday, like a perfect song
Makes me wanna sing along

Burning down a world of lies
With just one glance of those clear blue eyes
Holding on to the truth with some quiet strength inside
She gives me hope for better times
Thank you Sarah for showing me that I can free my mind
and rise above these troubled times

Writing words to the music in my head
It’s a perfect song
Moving me along
Through a broken world that’s changing every day
You make me feel that everything’s okay

Sarah Saturday, you radiate
and nothing in this world is wrong
Sarah Saturday, like a perfect song
Makes me wanna sing along

Writing words to the music in her head
It’s a perfect song
Moving me along

Sarah Saturday, you radiate
and nothing in this world is wrong
Sarah Saturday, like a perfect song
Makes me wanna sing along

Sarah Saturday (whoa o-o-o-oh)
Makes me wanna sing along

SING ALONG!!!
SING ALONG!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
When I find you in your sleep, Sarah
I will tell you what you mean to me, Sarah
I know this big world ain’t always what it seems, Sarah
Forever may I love you, and forever may you dream, Sarah

When I find you in your sleep, Sarah
I will tell you what you mean to me, Sarah

1 comment
  1. globetrotteri said:

    It doesn’t surprise me that so many incredible songs have been written about Sarah. My favorite one on this list is the Stevie Nicks song. Love her, love you! I’m surprised you haven’t included some famous women in history with this name. You can trace it all the way back to the Bible.

Leave a Reply

